I should have said it

When you were here
I took it for granted

I could study the intensity in your eyes
I could listen to the way you spoke
I could say what I held in my heart

But I didn’t

I let myself be distracted
and didn’t look into your eyes
I heard the confusion around me
and ignored what you were saying
I kept silent or spoke of shallow things
and never let you know what I was really thinking

And now you’re gone
And I can’t see you
Or listen to you
Or tell you . . .

. . . I should have said . . .

. . . I should have said

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . I love you

image

please share your thoughts...

