my brothers have not died in vain

I am pressed hard
by the weight of my brothers’ death
but not crushed
for my brothers and I do not carry the weight alone

I am perplexed
by the insanity of it all
but not to despair
for my brothers and I are set-apart saints

being hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; being perplexed, but not in despair;
{II Corintians 4:8}

their persecution
assures me that they lived for Messiah
they are not forsaken
for death is gain; they have gone to live with Him

they were thrown down
forced to their knees on the sand
but not destroyed
for they were more than the bodies they left behind

being persecuted, but not forsaken; being thrown down, but not destroyed;
{II Corintians 4:9}

what was my brothers’ crime?
“carrying around the Cross illusion in their heads”
bearing the death of their Master in their bodies
they too were delivered to death

yet they do not share
only in their Master’s death
but the lives they lived mirrored His life as well
marking them as his followers

Always bearing about in the body the dying of the Master Jesus, that the life of Jesus might also be manifested in our body. For we, the living, are always delivered to death for the sake of Jesus, that the life of Jesus might also be manifested in our mortal flesh, so that death indeed is working in us, but the life in you.
{II Corintians 4:10-12}

what am I to do?
I cannot remain silent
my brothers would not have me mourn for them in secret
for all this was for God’s glory

they did not die in vain
any more than their Master died in vain
no, just as He was raised to eternal life, so will they be
and we who are left must speak up about it

But having the same spirit of belief, according to what has been written, “I believed, therefore I spoke,” we also believe, therefore we also speak, knowing that He who raised up the Master Jesus shall also raise us up through Jesus, and shall present us with you. For all this is for your sake, so that grace, having spread through the many, would cause thanksgiving to overflow, to the glory of God.
{II Corinthians 4:13-15}

the pressure of knife to neck
may not have seemed slight or momentary at the time
but my brothers now see it for what it was
in the light of the weighty glory they now know

how much less what I experience?
why spend such time and effort looking at what I see with mortal eyes
and ignoring what I can’t see
but know lasts forever?

Therefore we do not lose heart, but even if our outward man is perishing, the inward man is being renewed day by day. For this slight momentary pressure, is working for us a far more exceeding and everlasting weight of glory. We are not looking on what is seen, but on what is not seen. For what is seen passes away, but what is not seen is everlasting.
{II Corinthians 4:16-18}

this is why my brothers died
because their bodies were temporary and destructible
and a mansion awaited their souls
in the presence of God Himself

God Himself, who promised me a mansion with Him
calls me to spread grace and thanksgiving while I can
because my body is temporary and destructible
this is why I live

For we know that if the tent of our earthly house is destroyed, we have a building from God, a house not made with hands, everlasting in the heavens.
{II Corinthians 5:1}

IMG_0801

One thought on “my brothers have not died in vain

  1. Powerfully written, but I cannot hit the ‘like’ button. We must not soon forget what our brothers did to stand for the truth. May it encourage us in our day to day “struggles”.

    Like

please share your thoughts...

